Our History

ServiceMaster was founded in 1929 as a moth-proofing company by Marion E. Wade, a former minor league baseball player.  Wade operated his new business out of his home, had a strong personal faith, and viewed individual employees and customers as worthy of dignity and respect.

Incorporated in 1947, the company expanded its offerings to include carpet cleaning in 1952, establishing one of America’s first franchise businesses.  In 1962, the company took its expertise to the health care arena and was a pioneer in third-party outsourcing.  In 1980, ServiceMaster entered the education market and expanded its commercial services.

In the 1980s, ServiceMaster built on its original franchise business to form a network of high-quality branch and franchise-based service companies including Terminix, TruGreen and Merry Maids – and other category-leading service brands, including American Home Shield.

A group of equity sponsers led by Clayton, Dubilier and Rice, LLC (CD&R) acquired ServiceMaster in 2007 and took the company private.  The company moved its headquarters to Memphis, Tenn., to better consolidate resources with its business units.  Robert J. Gillette was appointed chief executive officer in June 2013, and the company began publicly trading (NYSE: SERV) in June 2014.

Our Canadian Story

ServiceMaster of Canada has a rich history, starting in 1950 as a carpet franchise by Thane MacNeil in Toronto. Joining the company in 1967, Gary Franklin brought a vision to unite all Canadian franchises under a national banner to better serve its customers.

In 1997 ServiceMaster of Canada partnered with the owner of the ServiceMaster trademark in the United States and became a wholly owned subsidiary.

ServiceMaster of Canada is committed to developing new and innovative programs to demonstrate its strong commitment of providing best-in-class service. Through innovation and growth, our family of five industry-leading brands help serve homes and businesses coast to coast.

Today, ServiceMaster of Canada includes ServiceMaster Restore, ServiceMaster Clean, Merry Maids, Furniture Medic and AmeriSpec.

Please visit the links to any of our brand’s pages for more information.

Our Brands

In Canada, ServiceMaster is represented by:

ServiceMaster Clean (commercial maintenance)
ServiceMaster Restore (disaster restoration)
ServiceMaster Clean (janitorial services)
ServiceMaster Clean (residential carpet & upholstery cleaning)
Merry Maids (residential maid service)
Furniture Medic (fine furniture restoration)
AmeriSpec (home inspection)

Each of our franchise locations is independently owned and operated.

Notre parcours historique

ServiceMaster a été fondé en 1929 en tant qu’entreprise antimite par Marion E. Wade, un ancien joueur de baseball de la ligne mineure. M. Wade a exploité sa nouvelle entreprise à partir de son domicile; il possédait une foi à toute épreuve, et agissait avec grand respect et dignité envers chaque employé et client.

Incorporée en 1947, l’entreprise a élargi son éventail d’offres pour comprendre le nettoyage des tapis en 1952, établissant ainsi une des premières entreprises franchisées de l’Amérique. En 1962, l’entreprise a apporté son expertise dans la scène des soins de la santé, et a été pionnière en sous-traitance à des tiers. En 1980, ServiceMaster pénétrait dans le marché de l’éducation et élargissait sa gamme de services commerciaux.

Dans les années 1980, ServiceMaster faisait fond sur son entreprise franchisée originale pour former un réseau d’entreprises de services de succursales et de franchises de grande qualité, y compris Terminix, TruGreen et Merry Maids, ainsi que d’autres grandes marques de services, dont American Home Shield.

Un groupe de partenaires sur titre, dirigé par Clayton, Dubilier and Rice, LLC (CD&R), acquerrait ServiceMaster en 2007 et a transformé l’entreprise en société fermée. L’entreprise a alors déménagé son siège social à Memphis, Tenn., afin de mieux consolider ses ressources à ses unités d’affaires. Robert J. Gillette a été nommé PDG en juin 2013, et l’entreprise a été introduite en bourse (NYSE: SERV) en juin 2014.

Notre histoire canadienne

ServiceMaster of Canada a de riches antécédents qui ont débuté en 1950 par le lancement d’une franchise de nettoyage de tapis par Thane MacNeil à Toronto. Gary Franklin s’est joint à l’entreprise en 1967, et y a apporté une vision pour rassembler toutes les franchises canadiennes sous la même bannière afin de mieux servir les clients.

En 1997, ServiceMaster of Canada s’est associée au propriétaire de la marque déposée ServiceMaster des États-Unis, et est alors devenue une filiale en propriété exclusive.

ServiceMaster of Canada tient résolument à élaborer de nouveaux programmes novateurs afin de démontrer son ferme engagement à fournir un service de très haut niveau. Grâce aux innovations et à la croissance de l’entreprise, notre gamme de cinq marques à la tête de l’industrie contribue à offrir un service par excellent aux résidences et commerces d’un bout à l’autre du pays.

Aujourd’hui, ServiceMaster of Canada comprend ServiceMaster Après Sinistre, ServiceMaster Net, Merry Maids, Furniture Medic et AmeriSpec.

Pour en savoir plus, nous vous invitons à visiter les liens de nos marques.

Nos marques

Au Canada, ServiceMaster est représentée par les entreprises suivantes :

ServiceMaster Clean (entretien commercial)
ServiceMaster Restore (restauration après sinistre)
ServiceMaster Clean (service de conciergerie commerciale)
ServiceMaster Clean (nettoyage résidentiel de moquettes et de meubles rembourrés)
Merry Maids (service de nettoyage à domicile)
Meubles Medic (restauration et réparation de meubles)
AmeriSpec (inspection à domicile)

Chacune de nos franchises est une entreprise indépendante.